Alert : Javascript is disabled. To View this Website, Please Enable Your Browser's Javascript...

You are here

About Odisha Police

Odisha Police is committed to serve the people of Odisha, which is the eleventh largest state in India in terms of population with   about 4.2 Crore citizens. 

The sanction strength of Odisha Police is about 72,000 personnel. Odisha Police recruits one third women in the directly recruited posts of civil constables, sub inspectors and deputy superintendent of police. In terms of representation of women in police, Odisha is among the best in the country.

Director General of Police is the head of Police in the State. The State Police Headquarters is located the historical city of Cuttack.  DGP also has a camp office in the capital city Bhubaneswar.

There are seven Police Ranges i.e. Central Range at Cuttack, Southern Range at Berhempur, Eastern Range at Balasore, North Central Range at Talcher, Nothern Range  at Sambalpur, Western Range at Rourkela, South Western Range at Koraput. The range is either headed by IG or DIG. There are 34 Police Districts as against 30 revenue districts with two additional Police Districts   functioning in Rourkela and Berhempur considering the importance of these two cities. Superintendent of Police is the head of the District Police. There is Railway Police Range with its headquarters at Cuttack. The Railway Range has two Railway Police Districts at Cuttack and Rourkela.

There is one Police Commissionerate functioning in Bhubaneswar Cuttack twin city from the year 2008 with its headquarters located in Bhubaneswar. It has two Urban Police Districts at Bhubaneswar and Cuttack   headed by Deputy Commissioners of Police.

The Police District is divided into Police Sub divisions headed by Sub Divisional Police Officers in the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police. Each Police Sub Division has several Police Stations under it. The important Police Stations are headed by Inspector rank officer (known as IIC), where as the less important Police Stations are headed by  Sub Inspector rank officer(known as OIC).

DGP is assisted by other important branches of Police like Crime Branch, Directorate of Intelligence, State Crime Records Bureau, Special Armed Police

Police, Training Directorate, Human Rights Protection Cell, Communication Range, and State Forensic Science Laboratory.